Skip to content

Ratings, Rankings and Shiny Badges

March 17, 2012
hrexaminer-top-175-pulse-of-hr-logo-250px

I’m as much a sucker for the “Top XX” lists as anyone else.  Perhaps my fondness for these sorts of things is due to my undying love for the ubiquitous VH1 countdown shows like “Top 100 One-Hit Wonders of the 90’s” and “Top 100 Hip Hop Songs.” So I will admit, here among friends, that whenever some industry  list comes out I take a glance and derive a thrill if I appear.

So, I was quite pleased to see I made HRExaminer‘s list of Top 175 Online Influencers: Pulse of HR; showing up as #42 was pretty nifty.  John Sumser explains the List here (Top 25), and then provides some more details here.    Now I’m not quite sure when and where I got into discussions or wrote about the top topics that the list’s algorithm identified:

  • Alternative Dispute Resolution
  • Wage Garnishment
  • Service Level Agreement
  • Unemployment Compensation
  • Career Podcast
  • Workplace Bullying
  • Voluntary Benefits
  • Americans With Disabilities
  • Exit Interview
  • HR Certification

But, as John explained – “This was an attempt to find and measure the heart of HR.”  That works for me.  Certainly here at the Schoolhouse I talk all things HR and out in the world of Twitter, LinkedIn and other channels I do the same – with a dash of football, snark and silliness thrown in the mix.

As some extra added coolness, last week Geoff Webb included me on the Top 50 Digital Influencers List.  And that’s extra special since Geoff was one of the people responsible for helping me ‘birth this blog.” Get thee hither and check out all the Radical action

So it surely was fun to see my name on these lists.  And since we all know gamification in the workplace is something we all like to talk about, albeit a topic not picked up on by that pesky algorithm, I totally dig the gamified shiny badges.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

