Skip to content

Job Seeker – Know Thyself

February 2, 2012

Although this is an HR-focused website, I’ve never really felt the need to veer off into the topics such as tips for job seekers or ideas for recruiting talent from the HR perspective.  There are many more insightful people than I who have great content on these subjects – check out Miriam Salpeter, Rich DeMatteo, Jessica Miller-Merrell, Dawn Bugni and Chris and Teela over at Recruiter Chicks.

I’ve weighed in on the topic “Is the Resume Dead” and I’ve put my support behind the Zero Unemployment movement.  I regularly share links and info with job seekers who I run into, hopefully pointing them in the right direction so they can tidy up their Linked In profile or explore social networking channels as part of their job search.  Yet I’ve never really tackled (on this blog) the foolish things that job seekers do to sabotage their own success.

However, over the last several months I’ve continued to notice a ton of the same stuff happening in 2012 that I thought we outlawed in 1995.  I’ve also had several sad interesting recent interactions with job seekers that just made me shake my head:

  • A previously considered candidate who contacts me once per month with a 1 line email along the line of “any news on a job?”  No salutation, no greeting, nothing.  Rather, he pulls up an old email correspondence and “forwards it” to me with that one line added as the ‘new’ message.
  • A recent college graduate (degree conferred within the last several years) who has neither a resume nor an online profile. Nothing. 
  • Many many MANY candidates who do not include email addresses or phone numbers on resumes. 
  • Job seekers who continue to include personal information such as age, nationality, marital status, ages of spouse and children and weight (!) on their resumes
  • Folks who believe that networking means having multiple people contact me on their behalf to consider Sally Sue for “a job – any job you have open.”  Not that long ago I received a phone call from Sally Sue herself, a phone call from a friend-of-a-friend-of-a-friend (who has never even met  Sally Sue let alone worked with her), received Sally Sue’s resume via email from another person and finally had a 4th person walk into the office with a paper copy of Sally Sue’s resume imploring me to “please give Sally Sue a chance.”  

I feel for job seekers.  I know it’s frustrating and maddening to be on that side  – searching for opportunities, working one’s way through the labryinth of online application portals, and competing with hundreds of others for one opening.  I get it.

But dear job seekers – don’t make it harder on yourself than it should be and meet the recruiters, HR professionals and hiring managers with the basics covered. 

It’s 2012.  And the resume is not dead.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2012 11:43 am

    Simple. To the point. True. I definitely expect more of job seekers. I can’t hand them a job without a little effort on their parts to direct their own paths.

  2. February 2, 2012 7:22 pm

    Preach it, SIster!! These are excellent points and insights for job seekers to bear in mind that can make a huge impact on what “message” they send or how they are perceived. How you conduct yourself in your job search is a reflection of how you “operate” — this is your first impression and a chance to display how you work!

    Thanks for the shout out for the ‘Chicks, my friend!!!

Leave a Reply

