Skip to content

Say What? The OH comments of ILSHRM11

August 29, 2011

Today’s post is courtesy of Josh Rock – hockey fan, HR-dude, and social media wonk.  I had the distinct pleasure of hanging with Josh at last week’s ILSHRM11 conference and rumor has it that the two of us conspired to flaunt the rules of the conference center facility – but that’s just a rumor. You can follow Josh on Twitter or give him a shout on LinkedIn.

**********

I recently had the luxury of being able to tag along with a group of conference travelers. Being the new guy I wanted to learn from these people so I brought my notepad just in case. Well, I’m glad I came prepared as I was able to jot down some random statements that caught in particular parts could make many people blush.

With that here are some random liners overheard (OH) at the recent Illinois SHRM State Conference. I am keeping the identification of those who spoke these words private in order to blackmail them at a later date. (Note: I accept drinks, hockey memorabilia or straight cash as payment.)

These are in no particular order:

1)     “It sounds like somebody is peeing on the floor.”  I just arrived when this was heard, I couldn’t resist starting the list right away.

2)     “Nobody enjoys my boobs!” A great topic to focus on since men have no problem easing one’s fear of that.

3)     “Hot Chicks of HR ‘say what? We’re smarter than you think!” This conversation sprang into a full future conference breakout proposal. Coming to a conference
near you….

4)     “On top or on the bottom?” No more about the chicken or the egg coming first, this is the purest discussion available in today’s conferences.

5)     “Is your wife here?” ‘Nuff said!

6)    “We came together, we’re leaving together!” Sure thing, let’s go!

7)     “Wet Dreams & Choreography” Not sure how these two come together but, hey, it’s Illinois.

8)     “1st time I met him, I thought he was albino.  Is that wrong?” Somebody get Don King on the phone, somebody might want to throw down.

9)     “Someone fondled my head.” Sounds like a money maker – massages at the conference.

10) “There’s something on my face.” Don’t ask, don’t tell!

11) “I’m going in with the other foot.” Where’s the first one & how did it get there?

12)  “I’d go down on Buckingham.” Person, place or thing?

13) “Uh – Oh, Can I finish?” If you have to ask, No!

14) “Women country-wide are afraid to fight me.” Somebody call the folks at the UFC, we might have a new league – HRFC.

Well now that you’re caught up on this wealth of knowledge, go forth and carry the torch to your chapters. Wait, please don’t! The last thing we need is for this to circle around and give more ammo to those that uttered the words above.

Until next time…Peace!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2011 9:11 pm

    This is beyond hilarious. Now I know one thing for sure, I’m going to ILLShrm12 Loved reading this.

  2. August 30, 2011 9:09 pm

    I thought there was something odd about you, Josh, when I met you. Now I know it was all in your head. This can’t be true. Didn’t you know about the Illinois Eavesdroping regulation. I wouldnt admit your knack for OH if I were you. Oh but if it brings more curiousity seekers to ILSHRM12 — what the hay? 😉

  3. Mike permalink
    August 31, 2011 7:12 am

    awesome. period.

  4. August 31, 2011 8:06 am

    Jesus, I don’t show up at one conference and you people forget to invoke the tweet free/blog free zone around a newbee.

    Josh, you’ll get *nothing* out of MN SHRM.

  5. Josh Rock permalink
    September 1, 2011 12:48 pm

    Now the funny thing this about this & a few of the above comments is that those who contributed the many pieces actually looked forward to the growing of the list. It was a point of humor as it went along. Many wanted to know what had made the list and as people joined the group they were quickly caught up to speed as we all laughed about it and waited for new pieces.

    Donna – this was more pulling out edited sections of dialog in our post-conference discussions. All parties involved had no arguments to theirs being added.

    Laurie – I will be so tired from heading up conference that I won’t be included in such a list. I might actually look forward to such a list so I know what I missed out on. I do look forward to finally meeting you IRL & you keynoting our Monday session.

    Also, nothing from National came out of these fingers. What happened at Vegas stayed there. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Illinois SHRM 2011 | HR Soot

Leave a Reply

