Skip to content

Super Heroes and Super Powers

August 25, 2011
tags: ,

Perhaps because I came back from the Illinois SHRM State Conference late Tuesday night and then dove right into my day-job of HR at the crack of dawn yesterday, I was a bit late releasing this recap post to the world.  On the plane ride home I thought about themes and messages and major conference take-aways.  I scribbled a few ideas and tossed around some blog post titles and figured I would write a post this morning.

So I was intrigued when I read the recap post yesterday by my friend Maren Hogan over at Brave New Talent.   Apparently, in case you didn’t know, we are both amazingly wise and savvy women for we both had picked up on a similar message emanating from the speakers – HR people are ALREADY influential and have the power – we just need to know it’s OK to unleash it.

**********

We, as a collective profession, come armed with lots of knowledge and lots of business savvy.  We have to bring our game in the “how to” every single day because we cover a lot of territory.   China Gorman, in her keynote session, posed some questions to us about the economy, P & L experience and discussed how we go about gathering information and synthesizing all the collective bits we gather.  And you know what people? We DO it.  Every single day.  But we’re too quiet about our role and, quite frankly, our awesomeness.  We go about our bizness, slinking in/out of our HR offices, cubicles and departments rather than stepping up and proclaiming ” I am a super hero.  And I have power!”

**********

I had lots of thoughts about super heroes and power over those few days in Illinois.  Jason Lauritsen talked about Power & Politics (with a few minutes on super heroes).  I attended a concurrent session on Monday where Michael Hahn encouraged HR peeps to “have their say.” Heck –  we even got into a Green Lantern discussion over post-dinner cocktails (I’m looking at you Dwane Lay…).

Overall though, I gotta say it was very refreshing to spend a few days focusing on our future and our strengths instead of wringing our hands over the same old tired issues like “we don’t get any respect.”    But there was no superficial rah-rah kind of stuff; this was evidence-based content about how HR people are doing amazing things.

So yeah – I am a super hero.  Or perhaps a combination of several.  She-Ra? Wonder Woman?  Jem?

Who do YOU wanna be?

p.s.  and don’t even start with me.  Yes – Jem was a super hero.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2011 9:58 am

    You had a Green Lantern discussion without me? I’m sure everything that was spoken was wrong. *phhffftt*

  2. August 25, 2011 7:55 pm

    You have the tools….use them! Great post Robin. Thanks for visiting us and brining your smiling face and bubly personality to the deliquent section of the Crystal Ballroom at ILSHRM in Oak Brook! Hope to see you soon!

  3. August 25, 2011 8:14 pm

    OMG I love JEM! She was totally a super hero and a fashionista at the same time which isn’t easy to do:)

Leave a Reply

