Skip to content

Decisions for the Future

April 21, 2011

I’ve been spending the last few months doing some prep work as our organization gets ready to move into a strategic planning process; although we’ve chosen to call it a “Visionary Process.”  Semantics? Perhaps.  But a distinction that internally has taken on some meaning and significance as we move forward.

As a result, I’ve been allocating some additional time to reading and re-reading books and articles on a wide-range of subjects tied into what we’re setting out to accomplish.

And I keep coming back time-and-again to work done by Peter Drucker. A thought-leader and true guru who was ahead of his time, a lot of the ideas still bandied about within organizations and amongst management folks have arrived to us from Drucker.    Certainly, any discussions on the importance of talent within organizations have come to us straight down the line from ideas that he laid forth decades ago.

So as we get ready to move into this visionary planning process, I was reminded of one concept that arrived via Peter Drucker:

THE DECISIONS WE MAKE NOW

CREATE A DESIRED FUTURE FOR OUR ORGANIZATION

It’s exciting (and a tad scary) whenever one embarks upon a long range planning process.  We’ll be determining our objectives and defining what we want to accomplish and we will, ideally, work to reach our goals or objectives no matter what environmental conditions we encounter in the future.  Part of this envisioning of our future will mean acknowledging that there will be roadblocks and twists and turns that move us off the path. 

We can’t forecast the future nor can we make future decisions.  Rather we are setting in place a way of operating that will enable us to make good management decisions with our goals and objectives always at the forefront.

And I, for one, am totally geeked about kicking this off.

**********

And it made me think – what am I doing on a personal level?  Am I making current decisions that are focused on my future goals and objectives?  What ARE my future goals and objectives?  If I can do this within my organization, perhaps it’s time I do so for myself. 

What about you? Do you have expectations for the future?  And are you committing your current resources to achieving them?

While you answer that, I’m heading off to jot down some notes in order to start defining plans for MY future.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 21, 2011 6:39 pm

    great post Robin. I really enjoy reading your stuff!

Leave a Reply

