Skip to content

Super Cool Stuff I’m Doing

March 14, 2011

I’ve got a bunch of awesome events coming up over the next 6 weeks and I am, as the saying goes, RARING TO GO!

This Tuesday evening, March 15th, I’’ll be speaking at the SHRM @ LSU student chapter meeting.  It’s become somewhat of an annual visit for me and I think I’ve spoken at one of their chapter meetings for the last 4 years.  It’s probably a good thing people graduate, or they would get awfully sick of me.  This year, we’re going to talk about “The Future of the HR Profession.”   We’re going to start with a look back (do you think they’ll believe me when I tell them my HR Department used to maintain purged employee information on index cards?) and then we’re going to take a look ahead.  I hope to excite them about the opportunities that await them in their chosen career, but I also want to issue them a ‘wake up’ call about what THEY will need to do differently than the HR pros that have come before them.

On Thursday, March 17th, I’m thrilled to be traveling to the Louisiana Bayou SHRM Chapter to talk about Social Media and HR.  Although I didn’t formally participate in  Victorio Milian’s Put Up or Shut Up (PUSU) challenge for 2010, I do admit to having set some internal challenges/goals.  And one of them was to find ways to spread some positive information regarding social media out to the Louisiana HR community.   To further that goal I developed a presentation “Are you Tardy to the Party? Why HR Professionals Need to Understand and Utilize Social Media!” which I’ve already shared with the Baton Rouge SHRM chapter.   In addition to my trip this week to Houma, I’ll also be visiting the Acadiana SHRM Chapter in May.  Pretty cool!  (of course, the HR peeps like that each of these have been pre-approved for HRCI credits – some things never change).

The week of March 21st promises to be absolutely incredible as I will be participating in the Destructo Tour 2011 as it swings through south Louisiana.  I’ll be sitting on panels during the week-long event as we discuss things such as How to Make Social Media Fun, How to use SM Effectively for One’s Biz or Non-Profit, and Building Communities.  The folks participating are truly diverse – ranging from food bloggers to Biz Community Managers to little-old-me.  One of the end results of the Tour is to raise awareness and also provide some support and resources to some south Louisiana non-profit agencies.  I am super geeked for this entire WEEK of events.  Come on over and “like” us on Facebook!

At the beginning of April, it’s time for the 20th Annual Louisiana SHRM State Conference.  HR folks, vendors and speakers from far and wide will be descending on Lafayette, LA for two days of HR fun.  Seriously – it WILL be fun.  Of course, we have the requisite legal updates/compliance sessions (personal ugh) but we also have lots of other content for those, like me, who cannot stand the thought of sitting through yet another session on Worker’s Comp, ADA or FMLA.  We’ve got Stelzner coming  which should shake things up a bit, and everyone’s favorite Cynical Girl is also stopping by to add some lagniappe to the event.

And then, April will come to a very satisfying conclusion as I board a plane to attend the Royal Wedding HR Evolution in Atlanta.    What a perfectly marvelous way to end the month.

Let me know if we’re going to cross paths at any of these events!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

