Skip to content

What I’m Doing Today

February 17, 2011

I’m really quite excited for what’s on the agenda today.  I have the opportunity to present a session on social media and HR to my local SHRM chapter, and I’ve opted to title it “Are You Tardy to the Party?  Why HR Professionals Need to Understand and Utilize Social Media.” (Frankly, I was quite pleased with myself for the pop-culture reference…).

Obviously, I have quite a keen interest in talking about and exploring the use of social ENGAGEMENT media as is evidenced by the fact that (A) I’m writing this blog and (B) you can glance over there —> and are encouraged to follow me on Twitter.

It’s important, it’s crucial and it’s a key competency for savvy HR and Business professionals to understand and tap into the power of technology, collaboration and people.  But chances are I’m preaching to the choir if you’re reading this.  A quote I’m using today sums up my overall message:

“If you dislike change, you’re going to dislike irrelevance even less.”

Erik K. Shineski, U.S. Secretary of Veterans Affairs

**********

Hopefully, the 140 registered attendees will begin to further their understanding.  Wish me luck!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Christy permalink
    February 17, 2011 6:47 am

    Luck! I know you will do a fabulous job, Robin!

Leave a Reply

