Skip to content

Across the Pond

February 1, 2011

One of the nifty things about blogging, twitter and social media is the opportunity it provides for me to expand my professional circle which, in turn, allows me to tap into new ideas and experiences.  Since my current HR gig is strictly state-side I really don’t have much day-to-day exposure to global HR or practices in other countries.

So had you asked me a few short years year ago if I would have the chance to contribute a post to an HR site in the UK, I would have found the idea ludicrous.  But it surely IS a small world after all, and I was quite pleased to add my $0.02 to the series “If I Could Change One Thing About HR…” over at XpertHR.

Thanks to Michael Carty for encouraging my participation.  Go and read the entire series here.  There’s some super content that may give you some ideas on how to shake-up the HR world in which we live.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2011 9:16 am

    Thanks for sharing. Really good post. Not sure about the picture there, though. Looks nothing like the one here. 😉

  2. February 1, 2011 9:32 am

    Hi Robin

    What a lovely post, and I’m really glad that you have enjoyed the experience of writing a post for our ongoing “If I could change one thing about HR…” series.

    It’s an honour to have been able to publish your post, and I’ve been watching the discussion it’s generated with great interest.

    I completely agree about how great it is that social media have enabled things like this to happen. I’d have to say that just a few short years ago, I would never have known that I’d be curating a series of guest blog posts from HR bloggers around the world come 2011. But I’m delighted that this is the case!

    To anybody else out there that might fancy having their say on the topic “If I could change one thing about HR…”, please do feel free to contact me via the links Robin has so kindly included in her post. I’d love to hear from you!

    Thanks once again, robin, both for writing such a fine post for the XpertHR blog, and for taking the time to follow it up with this post today.

    Kind regards

    Michael

Leave a Reply

