Skip to content

What a Wonderful (HR) World

November 8, 2010

I had a fabulous, albeit all too brief, lunch with Franny Oxford this past Saturday.   The hubs and I needed to take a drive over to Houston for some business maneuvering (and the requisite trip to IKEA), so on Friday night I jotted off a quick note to Franny and by Saturday at 1:30 PM we were all enjoying some  marvelous Tex-Mex food.

Which is pretty cool when I think about how it came to be.

In early 2009, as I was entering the HR social media sphere, I started to connect with many of the incredible HR, Recruiting and Leadership folks that are plugged into social networking.  Unfortunately, I had conflicting plans so was unable to attend the tweetup that Franny arranged in New  Orleans during the SHRM national conference in June 2009.   But we finally connected IRL at HRevolution in May 2010 (we sat together on the shuttle bus  – stuffed Monster toys in our arms) and then we really got to spend more time together at HRFL10.  So it was only natural, when I found myself heading to Houston for the day, that I wanted to reach out to see if we could get together.

And there, my friends, lies some of the value in this world of social media.

******************

The majority of my HR friends and colleagues are those whom I see regularly, located in Baton Rouge and across Louisiana.  Since our primary exposure is to each other, it’s very easy to rehash the same ideas over and over, and ultimately develop the same viewpoints.  And if, as is the case for many us, we aren’t working for a global organization or even one with locations/employees in other states – well, that tends to keep us even further isolated as HR professionals.  Sameness.  Localized view. Conformist?

But now I have a vast, wide global network of HR colleagues to whom I can turn whether I have a question, want some insight, or merely want to absorb what they are thinking. I’m a sponge soaking up the ideas, thoughts, musings and viewpoints from an incredible array of people.  While I certainly don’t agree with every utterance, I appreciate the incredible array of viewpoints and information to which I am exposed.

***********

Shiny tools and gadgets? Yes.  New  and faster ways of communicating and connecting?  Yes.  Dynamic and valuable activities that enhance the HR profession and individual professionals?  You betcha.

It IS a wonderful world.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2010 6:39 am

    I loved seeing you, Robin, and meeting your husband.

    The gift of social media is getting to connect with people whom you respect, can learn from, and can bounce ideas off of, even if you don’t get to eat chips and salsa with them all that often.

    I don’t know where I’d be without trustworthy and caring mentors like you! The time I spend on social media is repaid 10fold in terms of the gift of an online community of HR Pros who raise the bar for me, professionally, every day, then coach me on how to jump over it.

    I hope to see you both again, soon!

  2. November 8, 2010 7:42 am

    Good social media stories like yours never get any publicity. All of the horror stories – girl murdered by Facebook connection! man fired for negative comments! – get all of the attention.

    Time for me to write or vlog my own positive social media story. Thanks for the reminder. You AND Franny are priceless.

Leave a Reply

