Skip to content

Let’s Do Lunch

October 29, 2010

School lunch.

Brown bag.  Scooby-Doo lunch box.  Plastic tray with little divided compartments.  Starch.  Meat.  Milk.

*********

I loved school lunch.  I always wanted to eat the cafeteria food but my mother often insisted that I brown-bag it.  I usually tried to engineer some strategic swaps; my apple for someone’s carrots; a home-baked cookie for a Ding-Dong (processed food always seemed more exotic somehow).

The lunch menu was often so enticing; Mock Chicken legs; frito-pie; tater-tots with everything.  So so bad for me.  And so so good.

**********

Were you a brown-bagger?  Did you walk home for lunch?  Or did you get to eat cafeteria food?

And perhaps more importantly, what was your favorite school lunch?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. John Jorgensen permalink
    October 29, 2010 10:51 am

    The “highlight” of our school menue was “mystery meat”. They had about a dozen different names for the same thing: chicken fried steak, cutlet (of something), breaded meat patty, ….ugh.

    • Robin Schooling permalink*
      October 31, 2010 6:04 pm

      And usually covered in some sort of “mystery gravy”

  2. Tricia permalink
    October 29, 2010 11:05 am

    I was a brown bag kinda girl and always got to pick out a new lunch box at the beginning of the school year. When I did get to eat school lunch my favorite lunch was pizza and french fries – that was the best. I could eat that every day if my mom would have let me!!!

    • Robin Schooling permalink*
      October 31, 2010 6:05 pm

      Carb overload!

  3. October 29, 2010 6:36 pm

    It was all about the lunch box design and I would open my thermos hoping my mom had washing it well enough it did not smell of sour milk. The highlight of every southern lunchroom were the handmade, from scratch, yeast rolls. I would always have change in my pocket to buy one.

    • Robin Schooling permalink*
      October 31, 2010 6:06 pm

      Yup; I remember when the “lunch ladies” actually baked and cooked things from scratch … right there in the school kitchen.

  4. Christina Price permalink
    October 29, 2010 7:28 pm

    I was the opposite. I had to eat cafeteria lunch and would rather bring my lunch. I loved chicken fried steak (really) but hated cafeteria rolls. They tasted like…glue.

    • Robin Schooling permalink*
      October 31, 2010 6:07 pm

      There did seem to be quite a bit of the glue/paste flavor thing going on. And I’m with you on the chicken fried steak Christina!

  5. November 16, 2010 2:41 pm

    Brought my lunch to school. Every. Single. Day. The only way to go! 🙂

Leave a Reply

