Skip to content

Mom’isms and your Job Search

October 18, 2010

The things our mothers say to us, which we then inevitably say to our own children, are the basis for numerous jokes and have given fodder to comics for years:

  • “Close the door; were you born in a barn?”
  • “Wear clean underwear in case you get in an accident.”
  • “Put on a sweater; I’m cold.”
  • “Just wait until you have children of your own!”

I can certainly attest to the fact that my mother was a master of the genre, and sure enough, although I swore I would NEVER say such ridiculous things, they came pouring right out of my mouth, directed  straight to my own daughter.

But sometimes, we utter something that has a lasting impact.

I’ve always been a believer in the power of positive thinking; setting a goal or a vision, envisioning yourself doing it, and then finding ways to move towards that goal or that future.  So I’ve had no problem talking about this to boost someone’s confidence or give them a nudge.  I’ve shared these thoughts with my daughter as well; interspersing these platitudes alongside such classics as “If Mary’s parents let her jump off the Hoan Bridge, does that mean I’m supposed to let YOU jump off the bridge too?”

And now 10+ years later, I received the greatest gift ever, when my daughter wrote a blog post about it, recalling how on one specific occasion I told her:

“If you really, really want something, just envision yourself doing it, and that thing you want will be yours.”

****************

She starts a new job today, having been the victim of economic downsizing twice in the last 16 months, but I know she will be successful.  She’s resilient, smart and focused and continues to move forward into the future with a plan, some goals, and a vision. I’m one proud parent.

I just hope she remembers not to go outside with wet hair – she’ll catch a cold.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 18, 2010 8:41 am

    So true, Robin! My mother used to tell me about an industrial accident that occurred while she was working at the factory during WWII., just to make sure I understood the importance of clean underwear. And aren’t blogging daughters the BEST?

Leave a Reply

