Skip to content

Operator? Information Please.

October 14, 2010

I was chatting with a friend last night and we referenced a mutual friend of ours; let’s call her Trixie.

Trixie isn’t on Facebook.  Rarely uses LinkedIn.  Twitter?  Blogs? YouTube?  Not a chance.  In fact, Trixie doesn’t have an internet connection at her house (although she’s exploring options).   She’s perfectly content to be plugged-in from 8 to 5 and then turn everything off and live her life.   And before you make any assumptions, she’s a Gen Y/Boomer cusper with a great job and a rich family and social life.

*********************

I saw a question posed on twitter yesterday  – ‘If you were to be unplugged from your social networks and tools for 24 hours, could you do it/would you do it?”

Well sure I could do it – but have to admit I wouldn’t like it.  While I don’t have to hop on Facebook or LinkedIn or Twitter to make it through the day, I would be somewhat lost without at-my-fingertips access to data, info and people.

Did the phone call come from the 21st century and Trixie just didn’t answer? Or is she on to something here?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jen permalink
    October 15, 2010 7:27 am

    Hmm. I’m not sure I could totally go without the internet. I’m down to only 26 friends on my private facebook (family and 2 best friends), follow less than 20 people on twitter, no blog, and no blackberry/iPhone. I don’t watch TV so I have to have Hulu, Fox and NBC to watch my few favorite shows and news. And ESPN360 for international soccer games is a must.

    But I’m starting to rethink my internet involvement. Great thought provoker! Trixie may just be one smart cookie to ignore the vast electronic media …

  2. October 22, 2010 9:01 am

    Oh- I did do this – sort of, for about 8 days. When we moved the last time the phone company somehow didn’t complete the move order right. Long story short- I had 8 LONG days of no internet connection. Being that I utilize it for my job- this was extremely frustrating to say the least. Fortunately I did have the Blackberry to at least let people know what was going on- and that I didn’t fall off the face of the planet.

    I sometimes feel free to be away from the constant connection. But given that so many parts of my life depend on being connected- it’s hard to walk away.

Leave a Reply

