Skip to content

Run for the Hills

September 8, 2010

With a sense of dread, the new- to- the- company  HR Manager opened the email ; the subject line was terrifying in and of itself.  As she scrolled through the body of the email, an involuntary gasp left her mouth.

Oh no, she thought.  It’s even worse than I feared.  Hundreds of men, women, and children.  A flaming fire on a blisteringly hot day.  Untold hours spent on one’s feet, sweating.  Painful memories intruding into every thought.

Please spare me, she silently prayed, for while others relax, drink beer and enjoy carnival games and a game or two of “Dunk the Executive” –apparently at THIS company they consider it a vital HR function for me to manage through this chaos.

Yes.  It was even worse than she feared.

The subject line of the email?  Annual Employee Picnic

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2010 7:25 am

    Snort! That is what employee activity committees are for. Give HR the budget, and the picnic to the people!

  2. Steve Browne permalink
    September 8, 2010 7:25 am

    Thanks for the serious belly laugh !! Oh my, does this ring TOO TRUE !! Appreciate the perspective and the gut-wrenching fear that your final line brought back !!!

  3. September 8, 2010 9:45 am

    Love it, though I must say I don’t mind doing (read that as helping) the company picnic, at least at my last org. I was one of the chief bbq’ers and turkey fryers…kind of like a tailgate. I agree with Mike on how to handle it though.

  4. Robin Schooling permalink*
    September 8, 2010 11:11 am

    I had a chuckle myself. I’m certainly not a curmudgeon and like picnics and festivities – and helping at them. But power to the committee for running and planning; for the people and by the people.

  5. September 8, 2010 7:20 pm

    Love it!

Leave a Reply

