Skip to content

Thanks to Those Who Labor

September 6, 2010

Relaxing on Labor Day, or any major US holiday for that matter, is often taken for granted by a number of people.  Our assumed “right” to a 5-day workweek, 6-10 paid holidays per year, and the relative certainty that one will be off for the all-important weekend activities, has become an expectation of many – particularly those who work in “knowledge jobs.”

So on this Labor Day – my thanks and appreciation goes out to those who are making MY day off particularly enjoyable:

  • the clerks at the bakery down the street (where I will be going since I forgot to pick up some accompaniments to our Labor Day brisket)
  • the folks working at the bait shop where my husband and his pal stopped for bait this morning on their way to the fishing hole (aka Lake Pontchartrain)
  • the waitresses at the restaurant where they stopped, I am sure, for breakfast
  • the workers at various manufacturing facilities, chemical plants and refineries around town – they work 24/7/365 and keep our local economy moving
  • the hospital workers, police, firefighters and other municipal staff who keep us safe – no matter the day

Having worked in health care, manufacturing and other 24/7/365 operations, I long ago gave up the notion of guaranteed-holidays-off.  And I long ago developed a deep appreciation for those who work on holidays.

So thanks to the American Worker .. no matter how you labor.

And that’s what I’ve learned today.  You’ve been schooled.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Steve Browne permalink
    September 6, 2010 11:11 am

    Being the HR person for a company who is a restauranter, I also want to give my thanks to the Team Members who I serve. They are taking care of the public like they do every day of the calendar year. People they know are enjoying a day of rest and leisure while they serve. I have a better respect for the true meaning of “Labor Day.”

    Glad to be a part of an organization that serves others. The best kind of company to work for !!

    Thanks for the reminder Robin !! Great new blog too my friend.

Leave a Reply

